EPIPHANY YOUTH MINISTRY

"Into all the World" 


The central focus of youth ministry at Epiphany is to strengthen a relationship of faith in Christ Jesus by discovering and developing our Spirit-given gifts for use in God’s world. The methods of youth ministry are fellowship, Bible study, and service, as the Spirit sends us to "go into all the world and tell the good news to the whole creation." 


Check out our youth calendar to learn more about current events.

Contact Pastor Joseph Bolick to request to receive emails and updates.



Medical/transporation/permission forms for all events


epiphany youth group

Epiphany Youth Group is our ministry to and with 7th through 12th grade students.  We meet about every other week after the second worship service for lunch, games, small groups, Bible study, service projects, activities, songs, and whatever activities and adventures to which the Spirit leads!  We also participate in Virginia Synod retreats and summer service trips.  Pastor Joseph and the Timothy Ministers (adult leaders) are called to serve the EYG community. 


lil youths


"Lil Youths" is our youth group for 5th and 6th graders! We meet once a month for a meal and fellowship, and friends are always welcome to come along! In March we attend the Virginia Synod's overnight event called "7th Day." Other outings may include bowling or a picnic trip to somewhere fun in Richmond. Lil Youths is led by Alexandra Griffin, Ryan Root, Kim Yucha, and Pastor Joseph Bolick. All youth events and gatherings are open to guests, friends, and parents.



confirmation ministry

The Lutheran Church offers those who have been baptized as young children the opportunity to affirm their baptism publicly during their high school years and take on a greater role within the life of faith in the congregation. This ministry is commonly called confirmation.


Confirmation classes for Grades 9 & 10 are held on every other Wednesday night during the school year.  Rite of Confirmation occurs at the end of the 10th-grade year. 


For more information, contact Pastor Phillip Martin at 282-6066 or pmartin@epiphanyelca.org    

youth Ministry activities and events

2019-2020



SEPTEMBER



 

Sun. Sept 8                 EYG (7-12th grade) Regular Gathering, Star Lodge, noon – 2pm

Sun. Sept 8                 Lil Youth (5-6th grade) Youth and parent meeting, Price Hall, noon -2pm

Wed. Sept 11              Confirmation

Sun. Sept 22               EYG Regular Gathering, Star Lodge, noon – 2pm

Wed. Sept 25              Confirmation  

Sat. Sept 28                EYG at Shalom Farms, 8am-12:30pm

Sun. Sept 29               Lil Youth lunch and games in Star Lodge, noon, 2pm

 

OCTOBER

 

Sun, Oct. 6                 EYG Regular Gathering, Star Lodge, noon – 2pm

Sun, Oct 6                   Lost and Found registration due to church office

Wed, Oct. 9                Confirmation

Sun. Oct 13                 Lil Youth Outing to Maymont, 12-3pm

Sun, Oct. 20                EYG Regular Gathering, Star Lodge, noon – 2pm

Wed, Oct. 23               Confirmation

 

NOVEMBER

 

Sun, Nov. 3                 EYG Gathering, Star Lodge, noon–2pm

Sun, Nov. 5                 Confirmation trip to Roanoke

Sun. Nov. 10               Lil Youth – Winterizing the Epiphany Garden, noon – 2pm

Wed, Nov. 13              Confirmation

Sun, Nov. 17               EYG Regular Gathering, Star Lodge, noon – 2pm

Sun, Nov. 17               Winter Celebration registration due to church office

Wed, Nov. 20              Confirmation

Fri-Sun, Nov. 22-24    Lost and Found Retreat (7-8th grade)

 

DECEMBER

 

Sun, Dec. 1                 All-ages Leaf Raking and bonfire, noon – 6pm

Wed, Dec. 4                Confirmation

Sat. Dec 7                   Christmas Store with STEP, 10am-2pm

Sun, Dec. 8                 Lil Youth Christmas Movie Party, Star Lodge, noon – 2:30pm

Sat, Dec. 14                Epiphany Youth Group (7-12th grade) Caroling and tacky lights, 5pm

                                                High School Overnight Lock-in, 8pm until 9am of Monday, Dec 1

 

JANUARY

 

Sun, Jan 12                 EYG Regular Gathering and “Alumni Day,” Star Lodge, noon – 2pm

Wed, Jan. 15              Confirmation

Sun. Jan 19                 Lil Youth Bowling at AMF Sunset Lanes, 6540 W. Broad noon – 2:30pm

Sun. Jan 19                7th Day Youth registration due into the church office

Mon. Jan. 20               MLK Service Day 8am-1pm

Fri-Sun, Jan 24-26      Winter Celebration Retreat (9-12th grade)

Wed, Jan 29               Confirmation  


FEBRUARY

 

Sun, Feb 2                  EYG Regular Gathering, Star Lodge, noon – 2pm

Sun. Feb 5                  Confirmation

Sun, Feb 9                  Lil Youth Valentine Cards and Games in Star Lodge, noon - 2pm

Sun, Feb. 16               EYG Regular Gathering, Star Lodge, noon – 2pm

Wed, Feb. 21              Confirmation

Sun, Feb. 23               All-ages Talent Show (Arrive at 4, serve at 5:30, show starts at 6pm)

 

 

MARCH

 

Sat - Sun, Mar 7-8      7th Day Retreat for Lil Youth (5-6th grade)

Wed, Mar. 11              Confirmation

Sun, Mar 15                Epiphany Youth Group Epiphany (7-12th grade), noon-2pm

Wed. Mar 14               Confirmation

Sun, Mar. 29               All-ages Car Wash, 8am-12:30pm

 

APRIL

 

Wed, Apr. 15               Confirmation

Sun, Apr. 19                EYG Regular Gathering, Star Lodge, noon – 2pm

Sun. Apr 26                 EYG and Lil Youth – Youth Sunday Planning, Star Lodge, noon – 2pm

Wed. Apr 29                Confirmation

 

MAY

 

Sat, May 2                   EYG and Lil Youth – Youth Sunday Planning, 9:30am – noon

Sun, May 3                  Youth Sunday, followed by Celebration Lunch

Sun, May 17               Lil Youth Field Day, Noon – 2pm


JUNE and JULY


Jun. 5-6 - Youth Assembly

Jun. 21-26 - Kairos Retreat

July 5-9 - Launch Retreat

Summer Camp Scholarships of 50% off to any ELCA Camp available  

TBD - Summer Mission/Service Trip