youth Faith formation

epiphany youth ministry


The central focus of youth ministry at Epiphany is to strengthen a relationship of faith in Christ Jesus by discovering and developing our Spirit-given gifts for use in God’s world. The methods of youth ministry are fellowship, Bible study, and service.


Check out our youth calendar to learn more about current events.

Contact Pastor Joseph Bolick to request to receive emails and updates.



Medical/transporation/permission forms for all events


epiphany youth group

Epiphany Youth Group is our ministry to and with 7th through 12th grade students.  We meet about every other week after the second worship service for lunch, games, small groups, Bible study, service projects, activities, songs, and whatever activities and adventures to which the Spirit leads!  We also participate in Virginia Synod retreats and summer service trips.  Pastor Joseph and the Timothy Ministers (adult leaders) are called to serve the EYG community. 


lil youths


"Lil Youths" is our youth group for 5th and 6th graders! We meet once a month for a meal and fellowship, and friends are always welcome to come along! In March we attend the Virginia Synod's overnight event called "7th Day." Other outings may include bowling or a picnic trip to somewhere fun in Richmond. Lil Youths is led by Alexandra Griffin, Ryan Root, Kim Yucha, and Pastor Joseph Bolick. All youth events and gatherings are open to guests, friends, and parents.



confirmation ministry

The Lutheran Church offers those who have been baptized as young children the opportunity to affirm their baptism publicly during their high school years and take on a greater role within the life of faith in the congregation. This ministry is commonly called confirmation.


Confirmation classes for Grades 9 & 10 are held on every other Wednesday night during the school year.  Rite of Confirmation occurs at the end of the 10th-grade year. 


For more information, contact Pastor Phillip Martin at 282-6066 or pastorphillip@epiphanyelca.org    

youth Ministry activities and events

2018-2019

SEPTEMBER


  • Wed. Sept 5 - Timothy Ministry, Star Lodge, 7pm
  • Sun. Sept 9 - RALLY DAY for EYG (7-12th) Star Lodge, 12-2pm
  • Sun. Sept 9 - RALLY DAY for Lil Youth (5-6th) Upper Room, 12-2pm
  • Wed. Sept 12 - Confirmation (9-10th), Upper Room, 7pm
  • Sun. Sept 23 - EYG (7-12th), Star Lodge, 12-2pm
  • Wed. Sept 26 - 7+8th Grade Fellowship serves at CARITAS, Price Hall, 7-8:30pm
  • Wed. Sept 26  - Confirmation (9-10th), Upper Room 7pm


OCTOBER


  • Wed. Oct 3 - Timothy Ministry, Star Lodge, 7pm
  • Sun. Oct 7 - EYG (7-12th), Scavenger Hunt
  • Sun. Oct 7 - Lost and Found Retreat (7-8th) Registration due to church office
  • Wed. Oct 10 - Confirmation (9-10th), Upper Room, 7pm
  • Wed. Oct 10 - 7+8th Grade Fellowship, Star Lodge 7-8:30pm
  • Sun. Oct 21 - EYG (7-12th), Virginia Supportive Housing service day, noon-3pm
  • Wed. Oct 24 - Confirmation (9-10th), Upper Room, 7pm
  • Sat-Sun. Oct 27-28 - Fall Fest at Camp Caroline Furnace


NOVEMBER


  • Wed. Nov 7 - Timothy Ministry, Star Lodge, 7pm
  • Fri-Sat. Nov 9-10 - Beach retreat with St. Michaels, in Virginia Beach
  • Wed. Nov 14 - Confirmation (9-10th), Upper Room, 7pm
  • Wed. Nov 14 - 7+8th Grade Fellowship, Star Lodge, 7-8:30pm
  • Fri-Sun. Nov 16-18 - Lost and Found Retreat (7-8th grade), Eagle Eyrie
  • Sun. Nov 18 - Winter Celebration (9-12th) registration due to church office
  • Sun. Nov 25 - EYG (7-12th) Leaf-raking and Dinner, noon-6pm
  • Wed. Nov 28 - Confirmation (9-10th), Upper Room, 7pm


DECEMBER


  • Wed. Dec 5 - Timothy Ministry, Star Lodge, 7pm
  • Sun. Dec 9 - EYG (7-12th) Star Lodge, 12-2pm
  • Wed. Dec 12 - Confirmation (9-10th), Upper Room, 7pm
  • Wed. Dec 12 - 7+8th Grade Fellowship, Star Lodge, 7-8:30pm
  • Sat. Dec 15 - EYG (7-12th grade) Caroling and tacky lights, 4-8pm
  • Sat-Sun.Dec 15-16 - High School (9-12th) Overnight Lock-in, 8pm - 9am of Sun, Dec 16


JANUARY


  • Wed. Jan 2 - Timothy Ministry, Star Lodge, 7pm
  • Wed. Jan 9 - Confirmation (9-10th), Upper Room, 7pm
  • Sun. Jan 13 - EYG (7-12th Grade), Winter Olympics in Price Hall, 12-2pm
  • Wed. Jan 16 - Confirmation (9-10th), Upper Room, 7pm
  • Wed. Jan 16 - 7+8th Grade Fellowship, Star Lodge 7-8:30pm
  • Fri-Sun. Jan 18-20 - Winter Celebration Retreat (9-12th grade), Eagle Eyrie
  • Mon. Jan 21 - MLK Service Day, Meet in Star Lodge 9am-1pm
  • Wed. Jan 30 - Confirmation (9-10th), Upper Room, 7pm


FEBRUARY


  • Wed. Feb 6 - Timothy Ministry, Star Lodge, 7pm
  • Sun. Feb 10 - EYG (7-12th) Valentine’s Service Project, Star Lodge, 12-2pm
  • Wed. Feb 13 - Confirmation (9-10th), Upper Room, 7pm
  • Wed. Feb 13 - 7+8th Grade Fellowship, Star Lodge 7-8:30pm
  • Sun. Feb 24 - EYG (7-12th) Talent Show Prep in Star Lodge, 12-2pm


MARCH


  • Sat-Sun. Mar 2-3 - 7th Day Retreat for Lil Youth (5-6th grade), Eagle Eyrie
  • Sun. Mar 3 - EYG (All-ages) Talent Show in Price Hall, 5-7pm
  • Wed. Mar 6 - Timothy Ministry, Star Lodge, 8pm (worship at 7pm)
  • Wed. Mar 6 - Confirmation (9-10th), 7pm Lenten Service
  • Wed. Mar 13 - Confirmation (9-10th), 7pm Lenten Service
  • Wed. Mar 13 - 7+8th Grade Fellowship, Attend service together, 7-8:30pm
  • Sun. Mar 17 - EYG (7-12th) in Star Lodge, 12-2pm
  • TBD - Bishop’s Day


APRIL


  • Wed. Apr 3 - Timothy Ministry, Star Lodge, 8pm (worship at 7pm)
  • Wed. Apr 3 - Confirmation (9-10th), 7pm Lenten Service
  • Sun. Apr 7 - EYG (7-12th), Car Wash, with lunch 8am – 1pm
  • Wed. Apr 24 - Confirmation (9-10th), Upper Room, 7pm
  • Wed. Apr 24 - 7+8th Grade Fellowship, Star Lodge 7-8:30pm
  • Sun. Apr 28 - EYG (7-12th), Star Lodge, 12-2pm


MAY


  • Wed. May 1 - Timothy Ministry, Star Lodge, 7pm
  • Sun. May 5 - EYG (7-12th) in Star Lodge for Youth Sunday Prep, 12-2pm
  • Sat. May 11 - EYG (7-12th grade), Youth Sunday prep, 9am - noon
  • Sun. May 12 - Youth Sunday (for all ages, both services), lunch to follow
  • Wed. May 15 - Confirmation (10th), Upper Room, 7pm (second year only)


JUNE and JULY


  • Jun. 7-9 - Youth Assembly
  • Jun. 23-28 - Kairos Retreat
  • Jun. 25-29 - Bishop’s School
  • July 7-11 - Launch Retreat
  • Summer Camp Scholarships of 50% off to any ELCA Camp available  
  • TBD - Summer Mission/Service Trip