EPIPHANY YOUTH MINISTRY

EPIPHANY YOUTH MINISTRY 2022-2023

 

Epiphany Youth Group is a partnership between GOD, our youth, parents and families, Timothy Ministers (our adult leaders), our youth leadership team, our pastors, our congregation, and our community and we are grateful for the way God connects us through these many relationships.  


Our theme for this year will be “ONE in Jesus Christ!” 


The best way to keep up with the activities and ministry of Epiphany Youth Group is to reach out to Pastor Joseph and get on the weekly email distribution list: jbolick@epiphanyelca.org.

 


2022 - 2023 CALENDAR OF EVENTS
 
SEPTEMBER
 
Sunday, September 11 Grace our Space – Building Dedication (Sunday school hour)

Sunday, September 18 Rally Day! Epiphany Youth Group (7-12 Grades) and Parents meet in the Star Lodge from 12:30 to 2pm.

Sunday, September 25 Lil Youth (Grades 5 - 6) in the Star Lodge, 12:30 to 2pm
Wednesday, September 28 7th and 8th Grade Game Night, 7-8:30PM, Star Lodge

 

OCTOBER

 
Sunday, October 2 Epiphany Youth Group (7-12th Grades) meets in Star Lodge, 12-2pm
Sunday, October 9  Lost and Found (7th and 8th Grade Retreat) registration due to church office
Sunday, October 16 Epiphany Youth Group (7-12th Grades) meets in Star Lodge, 12-2pm

Sunday, October 23 Lil Youth (Grades 5 - 6) in the Star Lodge, 12:30 to 2pm
Wednesday, October 26 7th and 8th Grade Game Night, 7-8:30PM, Star Lodge, 7-8:30pm                             

Sunday, October 30 Epiphany Youth Group (7-12th Grades) meets to host Trunk or Treat for YOUTH OF ALL AGES 12-2pm
 
NOVEMBER
 
Sunday, November 13  Epiphany Youth Group (7-12th Grades) meets in Star Lodge, 12-2pm (College Care Packages)
Friday -Sunday, November 18-20 Lost and Found Retreat (7-8th grade)
Sunday, November 20 Winter Celebration (9-12th Grade Retreat) registration due to church office
Sunday, November 27 Epiphany Youth Group, 12-5pm, meet in Star Lodge  (Leaf Raking)
Wednesday, November 30 7th and 8th Grade Game Night, Star Lodge, 7-8:30pm

 
DECEMBER
 
Sunday, December 4 Consecration Sunday, meet in Price Hall at noon for lunch
Saturday, December 10 Epiphany Youth Group Christmas Party (7-12th grade) Caroling and tacky lights, 5pm

High School Overnight Lock-in, 8pm until Sunday, Dec 11, worship together at 8:30am

Sunday, December 18 Lil Youth (Grades 5 - 6) in the Star Lodge, 12:30 to 2pm
  
JANUARY

 
Sunday, January 8  Epiphany Youth Group (7-12th Grades) meets in Star Lodge, 12-2pm (Winter Olympics)
Monday, January 16 MLK Service Day, meets in Star Lodge at 9am-12:30pm, lunch provided
Wednesday, January 25 7th and 8th Grade Game Night, Star Lodge, 7-8:30pm

Friday -Sunday, January 27-29 Winter Celebration Retreat (9-12th grade)
 
FEBRUARY
 
Sunday, February 5 7th Day Retreat (5-6th Grade) registration due to church office

Sunday, February 12 Epiphany Youth Group (7-12th Grades) meets in Star Lodge, 12-2pm
Wednesday, February 15  7th and 8th Grade Game Night, Star Lodge, 7-8:30pm

Sunday, February 26 Epiphany Youth Group (7-12th Grades) meets in Star Lodge, 12-2pm
 
MARCH
 
Saturday – Sunday, March 4-5  7th Day Retreat for 5-6th grade
Sunday, March 12 Epiphany Youth Group (7-12th Grades) meets in Star Lodge, 12-2pm
Wednesday, March 15 7th and 8th Grade Game Night, Star Lodge, 7-8:30pm

Sunday, March 26  Epiphany Youth Group (7-12th Grades) meets in Star Lodge, 12-2pm
 
APRIL
 
Sunday, April 16  Epiphany Youth Group (7-12th Grades) meets in Star Lodge, 12-2pm (Youth Sunday planning)
Wednesday, April 19 7th and 8th Grade Game Night, Star Lodge, 7-8:30pm

Sunday, April 30 Epiphany Youth Group (7-12th Grades) meets in Star Lodge, 12-2pm, (Youth Sunday planning)
 
MAY
 
Saturday, May 6 Youth Sunday final rehearsal (if-needed)
Sunday, May 7 Youth Sunday!  Youth lead worship at 8:30 and 11AM!
 
SUMMER
 
Friday - Sunday, June 9–11 Youth Assembly (at Roanoke College)
Monday - Friday, June 19-23  Vacation Bible School
Sunday - Friday, June 25 – 30 Kairos (Rising 9th-12th grade) retreat at Roanoke College
Sunday - Saturday, July 23–29 YouthWorks Summer Service Trip for rising high school and Class of 2023



 

Please see and complete our Medical Release forms below.

 

Finally, if you haven't already, I hope you will send an updated picture and info for our new 2021-2022 EYG DIRECTORY, which will include youth in 5th through 12th grade. Photos and info can be sent to Hhamlin@epiphanyelca.org

 


Contact Pastor Joseph Bolick to request to receive emails and updates.


Medical/transporation/permission forms for all events


epiphany youth group

Epiphany Youth Group is our ministry to and with 7th through 12th grade students.  We meet about every other week after the second worship service for lunch, games, small groups, Bible study, service projects, activities, songs, and whatever activities and adventures to which the Spirit leads!  We also participate in Virginia Synod retreats and summer service trips.  Pastor Joseph and the Timothy Ministers (adult leaders) are called to serve the EYG community. 


The central focus of youth ministry at Epiphany is to strengthen a relationship of faith in Christ Jesus by discovering and developing our Spirit-given gifts for use in God’s world. The methods of youth ministry are fellowship, Bible study, and service, as the Spirit sends us to live trusting that, "if anyone is in Christ, everything old has passed away -  see, everything has become new! " 


lil youths


"Lil Youths" is our youth group for 5th and 6th graders! We meet once a month for a meal and fellowship, and friends are always welcome to come along! In March we attend the Virginia Synod's overnight event called "7th Day." Other outings may include bowling or a picnic trip to somewhere fun in Richmond. Lil Youths is led by Alexandra Griffin, Ryan Root, Kim Yucha, and Pastor Joseph Bolick. All youth events and gatherings are open to guests, friends, and parents.



confirmation ministry

The Lutheran Church offers those who have been baptized as young children the opportunity to affirm their baptism publicly during their high school years and take on a greater role within the life of faith in the congregation. This ministry is commonly called confirmation.


Confirmation classes for Grades 9 & 10 are held on every other Wednesday night during the school year.  Rite of Confirmation occurs at the end of the 10th-grade year. 


For more information, contact Pastor Phillip Martin at 804-282-6066 or pmartin@epiphanyelca.org